2012 Gold Glove Winners

C - Matt Wieters (2nd award)
1B - Mark Teixeira (5)
2B - Robinson Cano (2)
3B - Adrian Beltre (4)
SS - J.J. Hardy (1)
LF - Alex Gordon (2)
CF - Adam Jones (2)
RF - Josh Reddick  (1)
P - Jeremy Hellickson (1) and Jake Peavy (1)

OCP Picks: 8 out of 9

Biggest Surprise: the one I missed... how did Mike Trout not win this award?  He finished the season highest in Defensive WAR among all AL outfielders and tied Adam Jones for the lead in total zone runs.  I'm not saying that Adam Jones is a bad choice (although he did finish the season with more errors than any other center fielder - 8 compared to 4 for Trout - but he's not a bad choice) however, if you watched any baseball this season, you know that Mike Trout was by far the best defensive center fielder in baseball this season.

C - Yadier Molina (5)
1B - Adam LaRoche (1)
2B - Darwin Barney (1)
3B - Chase Headley (1)
SS - Jimmy Rollins (4)
LF - Carlos Gonzalez (2)
CF - Andrew McCutchen (1)
RF - Jason Heyward (1)
P - Mark Buehrle (4)

OCP Picks - 6 out of 9

Biggest Surprise: Carlos Gonzalez... he would have been the third pick on my ballot (behind Martin Prado and Ryan Braun).  I'm not surprised that McCutchen won the award - he certainly wins the "eye test," but Michael Bourn's 38 zone runs is more than twice as much as the next Center Fielder (Angel Pagan at 16).

Special congratulations to my all-time favorite, Jimmy Rollins.  Rollins headlines an elite list of multiple Gold Glove winners.  His fourth Gold Glove moves him ahead of Barry Larkin, Roy McMillan and Rey Ordonez and into a three way tie for seventh most Gold Gloves by a shortstop (tied with Tony Fernandez and Alan Trammell).

Yadier Molina's fifth Gold Glove moves him into a tie with Bill Freehan for fifth most GG's by a catcher.

Mark Teixeira's fifth GG moves him into 8th most all-time among first basemen and Mark Buehrle (4) and Adrian Beltre (4) both move into the top ten at their respective positions.


Copyright © 2012 FOR BASEBALL JUNKIES.