Rockies All-Time Team v.2012

Today we're looking at the Rockies All-Time team version 2012. 

In addition to our normal review, we added an infielder, an outfielder and two starting pitchers to last year's inaugural team, which can be seen here

The Rockies played their first season in 1993 - meaning this is their 20th season.  While they have yet to win a division crown, the Rockies have made the postseason three times and reached the World Series once in 2007. 

For the infielder, we settled on Andres Galarraga.  The Big Cat earned MVP votes in all five seasons he played in Colorado and helped successfully bring the franchise to market in 1993.

The outfielder came down to Ellis Burks and Carlos Gonzalez (we did look at Brad Hawpe) and we eventually settled on CarGo.  Gonzalez' two Gold Gloves were the differentiator - that and the fact that he's still putting up numbers in Colorado (a bit of a potential pick).  If you look at Burks' offensive numbers in Colorado alongside Gonzalez', it's almost eery how close they were to this point in CarGo's career.

The two extra starting pitchers were difficult to iron out.  Jeff Francis was an easy pick but the last spot in the rotation came down to Jason Jennings, Jhoulys Chacin and Jorge De La Rosa... not a pretty bunch to pick from.  Chacin and De La Rosa will both have opportunities to surpass Jennings on this team but Jennings' tenure and his Rookie of the Year award set him apart at this point.  Needless to say, this is the weakest rotation of any All-Time team we've put together. 

Without further adieu, here's our team.  Tell us what you think.

C - Chris Iannetta
1B - Todd Helton
2B - Eric Young Sr.
SS - Troy Tulowitzki
3B - Vinny Castilla
IF - Andres Galarraga
OF - Larry Walker
OF - Matt Holliday
OF - Dante Bichette
OF - Carlos Gonzalez
SP - Ubaldo Jimenez
SP - Aaron Cook
SP - Jeff Francis
SP - Jason Jennings
RP - Brian Fuentes

1 comment:

  1. I like Ellis Burks over Dante Bichette in the OF. I like Jorge De La Rosa and Jhoulys Chacin over Francis and Jennings as SP's.


Copyright © 2012 FOR BASEBALL JUNKIES.