BBA Announces 2012 Connie Mack Award Winners

Today, the BBA announced its 2012 Connie Mack Award winners.  The Connie Mack Award recognizes the accomplishments of the best baseball manager as voted upon by member blogs of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance (like ours).

Our picks can be seen HERE.

In the National League, Davey Johnson won the award, as expected, taking the upstart Nationals to their first playoff appearance since 1981 when they were the Montreal Expost - winning a major league best 98 games in the process.

In the American League, Bob Melvin was the winner in the closest vote of all the awards given out this season, winning by a narrow 2% margin.

As mentioned in our post, we gave our vote to Buck Showalter but recognized that Melvin was worthy of the nod based on what he did with the A's this season.  I think that the victory was somewhat surprising given the amount of attention that Showalter got this season with the Orioles but I'm not complaining about the selection - both managers deserve the recognition for what they accomplished in 2012.

Congratulations to Johnson and Melvin on their awards.

You can see the remaining BBA Awards schedule below.  We will be posting the results as they become available.

Willie Mays (ROY) - 11/1
Goose Gossage (Rolaids) - 11/2
Walter Johnson (Cy) - 11/5
Stan Musial (MVP) - 11/6


Copyright © 2012 FOR BASEBALL JUNKIES.